Wednesday, October 31, 2012

Journeys of Faithfulness (Schoolhouse Review)


Journeys of Faithfulness, published by Apologia, and written by Sarah Clarkson, is a book that explores the lives of Ruth, Esther, Mary and Martha, and Mary, the mother of Jesus, with the intent of deepening the spiritual journeys of the women and teen readers.

The first thing I will say is that I loved this book! Emily did, too. Each chapter is a fictionalized account of a Bible story that draws the reader into the life of the character. The author explores the thoughts, motivations, backgrounds, and feelings of each character in a way that helps the reader not only to understand the character better, but to draw out Biblical truths that will impact the reader’s life. Each chapter is followed by a devotional reading that explores the topic further and several Bible readings with questions for meditation or discussion. Emily and I each read the chapters on our own, then looked up and discussed the Bible passages together.

Sarah Clarkson is truly a talented writer, making this a hard-to-put-down book, ideal for individual inspirational reading, mother-daughter devotions or study group discussion.

Although the cover specifies that the book contains “stories of life and faith for young Christian women,” I feel that this book would be valuable for any Christian woman, and possibly men as well. It is the type of book to read slowly and savor as you relate truths to your own life.

Highly recommended!

Cost: $13.00

Disclaimer: As a member of the Schoolhouse Crew, I received this book free in exchange for my honest review.


No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.